Costin Scholars 2005

Jennifer AlexanderJennifer Ferrell, DO

Jennifer Alexander Ferrell, D.O. completed her medical training at Oklahoma State University College of Osteopathic Medicine in 2000 before moving to Fort Worth, Texas to complete a rotating internship and residency in Internal Medicine at the Osteopathic Medical Center of Texas in 2004.  She then joined the faculty as an Assistant Professor of Medicine at the University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth.

Kathyrn BurkeKathy Burke, DO

Dr. Burke is the Chairperson of the department of Family Medicine and the Director of the Family Medicine Residency program at Midwestern University. Dr. Burke is a graduate of the Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine.  She is also the Chief of Staff at St. James Hospital in Olympia Fields, IL.

Dawn FairleyDawn A. Fairley, DO, FACOFP

Dr. Fairley is a 1985 graduate of the Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine. She received her board certification in family medicine in 1992 and recertification in 2004. She is the former Medical Director for the Family Health Center and the Family Practice Residency Program Director at St. Luke’s Hospital in Allentown, Pennsylvania. She serves as a member to the AOA and ACOFP House of Delegates. She has served as Chairman of the AOA’s Women’s Health Advisory Committee and as a member of the AOA’s Federal Health Council. Dr. Fairley completed the AOA’s Health Policy Fellowship in 1996. She received the 1992 Outstanding Young DO of Indiana award from the Indiana Association of Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons. She served as a board trustee for several years and as President of the Indiana Association 1993-94.

Isaac KirsteinIsaac J. Kirstein, DO, FACOI

Dr. Kirstein serves as the Director of Medical Education and as the Interim Vice President of Medical Affairs and Chief Medical Officer of Franciscan St. James Health.  The two positions align well as the health system and medical education are rapidly responding to environment of healthcare reform.

Beth LongeneckerBeth A. Longenecker, DO

Beth A. Longenecker, DO is the program director for the emergency medicine residency at Mount Sinai Medical center in Miami Beach, Florida.  Dr. Longenecker served as program director for the emergency medicine residency at St. Barnabas Hospital in the Bronx, NY for four years prior to taking the position at Mount Sinai. She is a fellow of the American College of Osteopathic Emergency Physicians (ACOEP) and a fellow of the American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP).

Cathy MacykoCathy Macyko, MD

Dr. Macyko’s area of specialty is pediatrics. She is presently the Section Director, Pediatrics at Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine.  Dr. Macyko’s Costin project is Integration of Clinical Content into the MSI, MSII Basic Sciences courses via Blackboard.

Sarah MinorSarah Minor, DO, FACOEP

Dr. Minor was a clinical instructor of Emergency Medicine at Midwestern University. She is a graduate of Oklahoma State University’s College of Osteopathic Medicine (2000) and did her residency training through MWU/CCOM. She attained an additional board certification in Hospice and Palliative Medicine in 2011 and is currently the Director of Palliative Medicine at Mercy Hospital in Hot Springs, Arkansas. Dr. Minor continues to practice as an emergency physician and hospitalist at Mercy and also serves as Medical Director for Hospice of Central Arkansas in the outpatient setting.

Richard MultackRichard Multack, OD, DO, FOCCO, CS, ECN, CHSM, Candidate MBA June 2013

Dr. Multack is the former chair and former director of residency training of the Ophthalmology department at MWU/CCOM.  Dr. Multack is a graduate of the Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine. Dr. Multack is currently Vice President of Medical Management for Advocate South Suburban Hospital and CEO of Multack Eye Care, SC. Dr Multack currently lectures nationally on patient Safety, Safer Surgery, Physician – Patient Communication, Patient Satisfaction, Medical Ethics and Ophthalmology


Karen NicholsKaren J. Nichols, DO

Karen J. Nichols, D.O. is the Dean of the Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine at Midwestern University.  She is a graduate of the Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences – College of Osteopathic Medicine in Kansas City, Missouri with a Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine degree as well as an Honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters from the same institution.

Prior to coming to MWU, she was in the private practice of Internal Medicine and Geriatrics for 17 years in Mesa, Arizona, also serving as Assistant Dean of Post Doctoral Education at the Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine.

Dr. Nichols served as President of the American Osteopathic Association from 2010 – 2011.

Donald SefcikDonald Sefcik, DO, MBA

Donald Sefcik, D.O., M.B.A.  is the Director of Academic Innovation & Psychometrics and the Senior Associate Dean at Michigan State University’s College of Osteopathic Medicine (MSUCOM).  He is board certified in Family Practice and Emergency Medicine.  Don has been involved at multiple levels in the education, training, and testing/evaluation of medical, nursing, pharmacy, and physician assistant students for over 25 years.

Terence SullivanTerence Sullivan, DO

The late Terence Sullivan, D.O., FACOOG, was former chairman of the department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at Midwestern University and Program Director of the Obstetrics and Gynecology Residency.

Stephen ScheinthalSteve M. Scheinthal, DO, FACN

Stephen M. Scheinthal earned his bachelors degree from Brandeis University in Waltham, MA. He completed his doctor of osteopathy degree from University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey–School of Osteopathic Medicine (UMDNJ–SOM) in Stratford, New Jersey. He completed his internship at John F. Kennedy Memorial Hospitals-University Medical Center and a psychiatry residency and a geriatric psychiatry fellowship, both at UMDNJ–SOM.

Vance PowellVance D. Powell, Jr., DO FACOOG, FAODME

Vance D. Powell, Jr., D.O. FACOOG, FAODME is the Director of Medical Education at Botsford General Hospital in Farmington Hills, Michigan. He is a graduate of The Virginia Military Institute, served six years of active duty, two in Viet Nam, in the Army Medical Service Corps. 

 Dr. Powell has served two terms as President of AODME, is currently a member of the Board of AODME, as well as two terms as President of MAODME, and is currently the Chairman of the Governing Board of the Michigan State University-State Wide Campus System . 

He has a LEGITIMATE golf handicap of 18!

Lawrence SandsLawrence Keith Sands, DO, MPH

Dr. Sands served as the Director of Community Health Services for the Clark County Health District in Las Vegas, Nevada. Residency trained and board certified in General Preventive Medicine and Public Health, he received his osteopathic medical degree from the Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine and his Master of Public Health from the University Of Michigan School Of Public Health. Prior to entering a career in public health he was a primary care physician in private practice in Michigan.